National Institutes for Historically- Underserved Students ​​

"The earth is the mother of all people, and all people should have equal rights upon it."    -Chief Joseph

Remembering Our First 2016
Think Tank
Our moment became a movement in November 2016 when our founding partners met for a think tank hosted by Adams State University in  Colorado to plan the National Center for Historically-Underserved Students. Based on that initial conversation, we established the National Institutes for Historically-Underserved Students to more accurately name and facilitate our goals.  We are planning a second think tank winter 2018 hosted by Alcorn State University in Mississippi. Innovative Behavioral Services, Inc., an established nonprofit organization and one of our founding partners, serves as fiscal agent and governing authority for the Institutes. We will be adding new partners on a regular basis. Along with a number of outstanding Adams State students, here is a list of our founding think tank participants:

Dr. Shelley Billig, Vice President, RMC Research Corporation
Dr. Kristin Bundesen, Founding Director, Southwest Mississippi Center for Culture and Learning at Alcorn State University
Kathleen Chavez, Instructor of English and Developmental Education, Adams State University
Kevin Christian, Senior Program Associate for Diversity, American Association of Community Colleges
David Creel, Syndicated Columnist
Dr. Ed Crowther, Professor and Chair, Department of History, Adams State University
Margaret Doell, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, Adams State University
Shirlethia Franklin, Esquire, Deputy Chief of Staff and White House Liaison to the U.S. Attorney General, Obama Administration
Bertha Garcia, Tribal Elder and Women’s Tribal Leader, Santo Domingo Pueblo
Marcella Garcia, Project Director, Title V Initiatives, Adams State University
Dr. Keith Gaskin, Vice President for Advancement, Memphis Theological Seminary
Dr. Chris Gilmer, Founder, National Institutes for Historically-Underserved Students
Lillian Gomez, Executive Director, Title V Programs, Adams State University
Pedro "Pete"  Gomez, College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP) Director, Adams State University
Dr. Trudy Hensley, Vice President, RMC Research Corporation
Dr. Doreen Larson, President, Edison State Community College; Chair, American Association of Community Colleges Commission on Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity
Dr. Donzell Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Alcorn State University
Dr. Estela Lopez, Senior Associate, Excelencia in Education; former Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Connecticut State Colleges and Universities
Oneyda Maestas, Cultural Awareness and Student Achievement Center (CASA) Coordinator and Student Advocate, Adams State University
Dr. Beverlee McClure, President, Adams State University
Dr. Dorothy McGill, CEO, Innovative Behavioral Services, Inc.
Dale Mingilton, Executive Director, Adams 14 Education Foundation
Teri Mingilton, Community Advocate
Robin Ozz, President, National Association for Developmental Education; Professor of English, Phoenix College
Wendall Pryor, Trustee, Adams State University
Luisa del Carmen Pollard, CEO, Clemente and Associates; Senior Public Health Advisor (retired), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Arnold Salazar, President, Board of Trustees, Adams State University
Marguerite Salazar, Commissioner of Insurance, State of Colorado
Dr. “Beez” Lea Ann Schell, Professor and Chair, Department of Human Performance and Physical Education, Adams State University
Chad Shealy, Superintendent, Vicksburg/Warren Public Schools
Constance Slaughter-Harvey, Esquire, Civil Rights Attorney and Founder, Legacy Foundation
Anna Torello, Event Planner, Title V Initiatives, Adams State University
Marta Youngblood, Grants Development Director, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Terrance Youngblood, Doctoral Candidate in Educational Psychology, Texas Tech University